Headlies

Something has to be done about misleading, deceptive news headlines.

Growing up, headlines were my only source of news. I did not like to read. But I wanted to know, generally, what was happening in the world. I would scroll through headlines and maybe read the first paragraph of an interesting article. Since getting older, I graduated to reading entire articles. Now, after reading the article, I often research the related subject  using a variety of sources. The more and more I read, and the deeper I dug, I realized how little value a single news article provides. Recently, however, I’m finding they don’t just provide little value; they harm society.

Mainstream news harms society by not only leaving out critical information, but by using deceptive and misleading statements, especially in headlines.

Leave a Reply

